Last therapy session! Thankful for my therapist ♥

I went for my last therapy session today. To be honest, I did not think that today’s session would be the last one, but I saw the end of my therapy coming. (Simply because I did not have very much to share and my schedule was getting rather hectic.) 

I am so thankful for my therapist. I am thankful for her being so understanding, non-judgmental (or at least not passing judgments out loud for that matter!) Thought that the following was interesting to write about because, by some incidental chance, I found out her MBTI type. 

It went along these lines:

“Can I ask you a question?”

“Of course, go ahead. What do you want to ask?”

“Do you know about the MBTI personality types? What is your MBTI type?”

“Why? Why don’t you make a guess?”

“Are you an INFJ?”

 

And there. I was right, spot on. 

Being an INFJ (I am one too!), we view issues from different perspectives. We tend to empathize more with people and try to see things from others’ perspectives. While other people might have judged me by those scars on my arm as an ungrateful bitch, melodramatic person, attention-seeker, etc (the list could go on forever), she did not. She saw where I was coming from.

As I took some time to open up, being an immensely private person (that I still am), she was patient and simply understood me. She waited till I opened up, listened from an objective point of view and never once judged me. 

Thank you for understanding my feelings. Thank you for feeling what I feel, because it made my feelings of alienation dwindle. Even though my feelings had burdened you, I sincerely thank you and am sorry for the trouble caused. 

Perhaps, you may never read this. But, you have inspired me very much through your posts and tweets to be less judgmental, more understanding towards others and forgiving others. 

I love your quote, “We feel what we feel because we feel” so much, because feeling is what makes us human. Feeling is what helps us understand each other’s needs, sorrows and happiness as fellow human beings roaming this earth. Feeling is what allows us to connect with each other and forge bonds. 

You are one of the most understanding, compassionate and unique person I have ever met. In the materialistic and pragmatic world that we all live in today, it is rare to find someone who would look beyond the appearance, wealth, grades, achievements, etc- the surface of a person. It is rare to find someone like you who would choose to shine your torch at the gems glowing, beneath the surface of a person. It is really hard to find someone who would simply choose to see and believe in the good that lies within every individual. 

Thank you for being an inspiration and role model for me to see good in every living being. Thank you for showing me how to understand others better, through understanding and resonating with me. 

Thank you for helping me with my volunteer hours today, yet understanding and believing me at the same time I would never volunteer for superficial reasons like that. You truly understand and I appreciate that. 

Sometimes, all we need is someone to understand us, and that supersedes any kind of advice people can give. You have played that important role in my life and I am eternally grateful. 

I can never repay you, but I will pass what you have imparted to someone else who needs it most.

I have never actually told you this before (and you probably won’t ever know, unless I pluck up my courage to show you this), but I am actually inspired by you to become a therapist/counsellor. Yes, I do have other ambitions such as a lawyer, doctor or a Geography teacher. It does not actually matter what I do, because whichever career path I embark on, I will always bear in mind to learn from you, to show kindness to one another, to forgive, to understand, to love and to see good in people. 

Lastly, it does not matter what I do, as long as I am passionate about it, and if I am doing it for the right reasons — which is to help others and make this world a better place. Not to glorify ourselves. Never should that be the reason. 

After all, materialistic possessions such as a certificate will not define who we are on the inside. It will not define me as a person. I am so much more than that. We are all so much more than that, as a human being, as a person, as a part of this world. 

 

~~~~

 

Image

 

 

I will study hard and treasure my education. I am determined to do well this year. Even though encountering failures is an inevitable yet excruciating part of life, I will try to pick myself up and not give up so easily. :)

Just finished my coffee. All set and geared up to do my Science work. (Oh the dreary, dreadful Sciences!) 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

